Spizzichino versus Spizz – Moved From The Old Forum

You are here:Home/Forums/Cymbals/Spizzichino versus Spizz – Moved From The Old Forum
Spizzichino versus Spizz – Moved From The Old Forum 2017-06-16T23:18:33+00:00

Home Forums Cymbals Spizzichino versus Spizz – Moved From The Old Forum

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • Profile photo of Simon EdgooseSimon Edgoose
    Keymaster
    #157 |

teethmeister
    Advanced Contributer

United Kingdom
    1112 Posts

Posted – 27/10/2016 : 12:50:42 Show Profile Visit teethmeister’s Homepage Reply with Quote
    Now, some of you folks out there may know of the work of the late, great, independent cymbalsmith, Roberto Spizzichino of Italy. He spent over 50 years honing his craft and produced some of the greatest cymbals (certainly for Jazz players) ever made. They were and are very highly revered, and are very expensive to acquire.

Roberto was independent and self-taught. His quest was to try to recreate the best of the “Old K” Zildjians from Turkey which he didn’t feel were being made any more either in Turkey or in America. He thought that something had been lost at some point, some vital aspect, and so deliberately did not look at what the present day Turkish foundries were doing, in case it led him to overlook the same thing again.

Over the years he bought cymbal “blanks” from various different foundries both in China and in Turkey. I think in the early days he was also getting some from UFIP. He was constantly experimenting and trying new things. Contantly evolving his working process.

His cymbals are big in the orchestral world too. Whenever I visit a top orchestra to show them my stuff, they usually have a pair or two of Spizzichino’s in their locker.