Playing Cajon

You are here:Home/Forums/General Discussion/Playing Cajon
Playing Cajon 2017-07-17T13:25:42+00:00

Home Forums General Discussion Playing Cajon

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    #339 |

I’m in a loud rock band, and we occasionally do an acoustic gig so I (badly) play a bit of cajon from time to time. Played one of these gigs yesterday and my hands are destroyed. My fingers are swollen – such that my wedding ring is now stuck on… Is this a normal thing that would get better after doing it a lot, or am I doing it all wrong? I suspect the latter…

Profile photo of LeeLee
    Participant

Hi Sharklaar. I’m not a cajon expert and I probably don’t have particularly correct cajon technique, I just do it my way, left hand lower down for bass notes and right hand higher up slapping out rhythms. But my main gig for 2 or 3 years was just cajon, and I added hi-hat, snare and ride cymbal. A couple of things I’ll suggest but they’re not necessarily an answer to stopping you getting swollen fingers.

I always removed the ring on my pinky finger when I played because it reduced any potential damage to the cajon, stopped unwanted metal on wood sound and it probably prevented any shock vibrations or pressure of the ring against my finger. The other extremely important thing is posture. I was doing my back in, it was really hurting from playing cajon. I watched a couple of youtube videos and learnt not to bend forward too much but to keep the back as straight as possible. Sitting further back is better with your backside coming just slightly off the back end of the cajon.