John Grey snare drums – Moved From The Old Forum

You are here:Home/Forums/Vintage Gear/John Grey snare drums – Moved From The Old Forum
John Grey snare drums – Moved From The Old Forum 2017-06-16T23:07:57+00:00

Home Forums Vintage Gear John Grey snare drums – Moved From The Old Forum

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • Profile photo of Simon EdgooseSimon Edgoose
    Keymaster
    #148 |

wayne
    Advanced Contributer

Canada
    845 Posts

Posted – 29/03/2017 : 04:50:14 Show Profile Reply with Quote
    Is anyone playing one of these old girls?..Im getting one with a kit soon and was curious how you felt about them.
    Hit like you mean it!
    Captain Bubble
    Advanced Contributer

United Kingdom
    19666 Posts

Posted – 30/03/2017 : 10:19:07 Show Profile Visit Captain Bubble’s Homepage Reply with Quote
    Not for many years, but my first kit was a used John Grey Autocrat, 20″ BD, 12×8″and 16 x 16″ toms and 14 x 5″ SD.
    I was a complete beginner and had little idea of how drums could and should sound, or how to make modifications. I found it difficult to get the SD sounding reasonable (to my inexperienced ears) but whatever I did with tuning and snare tension never seemed to achieve much, and it sounded a bit thin, dead and non-projecting to me. At one point I took both heads off and noticed that the shell was slightly warped so that the edges were not flat. Eventually I bought a new Premier 2000 SD, and even though I knew diddly squat about drums this drum pleased me far more.

Just my experience, not sure if the limitations of the JG were at least in part that I was new to drums, and perhaps nowadays I could get it to work far better for me. Also I am not sure if the warping was the ONLY cause of it not pleasing me….heads and snares in those days were far less highly quality than now.
    Marcus de Mowbray
    http://www.330studios.co.uk/marcus
    Go to Top of Page
    Bob Henrit
    Very Active Contributer

United Kingdom
    112 Posts