How to get into session work?

You are here:Home/Forums/General Discussion/How to get into session work?
How to get into session work? 2017-10-22T20:13:57+00:00

Home Forums General Discussion How to get into session work?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Participant
    #698 |

Hi y’all. Nice to be back on the new forum.

Im just a hobby drummer and spent the last few years very off and on in bands made up mates doing covers. All well and good and lots of fun but they inevitably fizzle out and then its on to the next one.

Moving on I’d like to be able to put myself forward for a bit of session work, a gun for hire. Never done that sort of work before.

Any advice on how to get myself out there?
    Thanks

Mike Dolbear
    Keymaster

The million dollar question “how do I get into session work” this job doesn’t really exist anymore and there are very few drummers who can survive on session work alone anymore, why do you think Steve Gadd is still touring into his 70s !
    A lot of drummers now have their own home studios and get files sent to them which they record the drums and send them back, eve drummers like JR, Thomas Lang and Ash Saan are doing this now.
    BUT the question is how do you get yourself out there and I will try and answer that with some positives, contact local studios, song writers and producers and offer your services for FREE to start with to get your foot in the door, studio time is expensive and they dont want to take a risk on somebody in case it doesn’t work, hopefully once you have proved yourself you will get a call back.
    You also need videos on YouTube or a website to show others what you can do, like it or not a lot of work comes from there as it’s a quick way to see if you can play and you have what people are looking for.
    Finally and the most important — make sure you have your playing and timing together as once you get the chance you want to make sure you can do the job in hand.

Pabs