13" snare: snares are rustling while 'snares off' – Moved From The Old Forum

You are here:Home/Forums/Help & Advice/13" snare: snares are rustling while 'snares off' – Moved From The Old Forum
13" snare: snares are rustling while 'snares off' – Moved From The Old Forum 2017-06-16T23:25:53+00:00

Home Forums Help & Advice 13" snare: snares are rustling while 'snares off' – Moved From The Old Forum

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Keymaster
    #163 |

Ralf
    Excellent Contributer

Germany
    177 Posts

Posted – 16/03/2017 : 23:34:37 Show Profile Visit Ralf’s Homepage Reply with Quote
    Hello,

Maybe this is a strange prob for some of you – but my 13″ (diameter) snare of my Prem Artist Heritage Club Kit has a rustling of the snares, although the lever is in the ‘Off’-position.
    I have no experience with 13″ snare from earlier times, as my other snare drum all are in 14″ diameter and mostly with parallel action (Prem 2000 and Star KingBeat), where such probs will never occur.

Is that rustling in general normal at 13″ snares due to the smaller diameter – or is it because some snare levers (such as my Prem) do not allow the snares to be enough ‘off’ the resonant head meaning: the space between position ‘On’ and ‘Off’ is not big enough?

I’m just wondering whether I must get used to play this snare with the ‘On’-position solely always?

Thanks for your advices!

Cheers, Ralf
    Vintage STAR (= Pre-Tama) website: http://www.star-drums.de
    Captain Bubble
    Advanced Contributer

United Kingdom
    19666 Posts

Posted – 17/03/2017 : 07:50:21 Show Profile Visit Captain Bubble’s Homepage Reply with Quote